Artsies announced!

Artsies announced!
Artsies announced!
User Rating: 0 (0 votes)

Here’s are the recipients (in bold) of the 7th Annual Richmond Theatre Critics Circle Awards (the nominees are also listed).



Best Musical: The Color Purple, Virginia Repertory Theatre

Cabaret, Richmond Triangle Players

The Drowsy Chaperone, Swift Creek Mill

Fiddler on the Roof, Virginia Repertory Theatre

Shrek The Musical, Virginia Repertory Theatre



Best Direction (Musical): Chase Kniffen, The Color Purple

Robin Arthur, Shrek the Musical

Penny Ayn Maas, Cabaret

Richard Parison, Fiddler on the Roof

Tom Width, The Drowsy Chaperone



Best Actor (Musical): Josh Marin, The Color Purple

David Benoit, Fiddler on the Roof

Ronnie Brown, Shrek the Musical

Chris Hester, Cabaret

Jason Marks, Shrek the Musical

Jerold Solomon, The Color Purple



Best Actress (Musical): Felicia Curry, The Color Purple

Grey Garrett, Beyond the Rainbow, Swift Creek Mill

Christie Jackson, The Drowsy Chaperone

Nicole Oberleitner, Caberet

Aly Wepplo, Shrek the Musical



Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Musical): Doug Schneider, Cabaret

Steve King, The Drowsy Chaperone

Josh Marin, The Wild Party, Firehouse Theatre

Matt Shofner, The Drowsy Chaperone

Scott Wichmann, Olympus on my Mind, Virginia Repertory Theatre



Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Musical): Jeanie Rule, Cabaret

Carolyn Meade, The Wild Party

Carolyn Minor-Daughtry, The Color Purple

Nicole Oberleitner, The Drowsy Chaperone

Desiree Roots, The Color Purple



Best Musical Direction: Paul Deiss, The Drowsy Chaperone

Kim Fox, Cabaret

Ben Miller, The Color Purple

Ben Miller, The Wild Party

Anthony Smith, Fiddler of the Roof



Best Choreography: Leslie Owens-Harrington, The Color Purple

Robin Arthur, Shrek the Musical

Dennis Clark, The Drowsy Chaperone

Karen Getz, Fiddler on the Roof

Penny Ayn Maas, Cabaret



Best Play: Clybourne Park, Cadence Theatre (collaboration with Virginia Rep)

The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity, Firehouse Theatre (aka ‘Chad Deity’)

Good People, Cadence Theatre (collaboration with Virginia Rep)

Joshua Plant, Chamberlayne Actors Theatre

Quality of Life, HATTheatre



Best Direction (Play): Keri Wormald, Clybourne Park

Anna Johnson, Detroit, Cadence Theatre (collaboration with Virginia Rep)

Anna Johnson, Good People

Kerry McGee, Chad Deity

David Emerson Toney, ‘night, Mother, Firehouse Theatre



Best Actor (Play): Scott Wichmann, Say Goodnight Gracie

Joseph Carlson, A Streetcar Named Desire, Firehouse Theatre

Jeff Cole, Wittenberg, Henley Street/Richmond Shakespeare

Aaron Orensky, Joshua Plant

Alexander Sapp, Grace, TheatreLAB



Best Actress (Play): Catherine Shaffner, ‘night, Mother

Eva DeVirgilis, Hypocrites & Strippers, Richmond Triangle Players

McLean Jesse, Clybourne Park

Katrinah Carol Lewis, Death & the Maiden, Henley Street/Richmond Shakespeare

Dawn A. Westbrook, Good People



Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Play): TIE: Mauricio Marces, Chad Deity

& Alexander Sapp, Richard III

Andrew Firda, Clybourne Park

Stephen Ryan, The Importance of Being Earnest, Henley Street/Richmond

Shakespeare/Richmond Triangle Players

Alexander Sapp, Tartuffe, Virginia Repertory Theatre



Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Play): Jacquie O’Connor, Good People

Jennifer Frank, The Dixie Swim Club, Swift Creek Mill

Melissa Johnston Price, Other Desert Cities, Virginia Repertory Theatre

Debra Wagoner, Tartuffe

Raven Wilkes, Midsummer Night’s Dream, Henley Street/Richmond Shakespeare



The Ernie McClintock Award for Best Ensemble Acting: The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity

Clybourne Park



Quality of Life



Most Promising Newcomer: TIE Grace Mincks, Beyond the Rainbow

& Diego Salinas, Joshua Plant

Isabella Cipolina, The Miracle Worker, Swift Creek Mill

Ally Dodds, Fiddler on the Roof

Brad Frazier, Tartuffe



Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design: Geno Brantley, Chad Deity

Joe Doran, The Drowsy Chaperone

Joe Doran, The Color Purple

Lynne M. Hartman, Other Desert Cities

Robert Perry, Fiddler on the Roof



Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design: Elizabeth Weiss Hopper, Shrek the Musical

Maura Lynch Cravey, The Drowsy Chaperone

Sue Griffin, The Color Purple

Sue Griffin, Fiddler on the Roof

Sue Griffin, Tartuffe



Outstanding Achievement in Set Design: Ben Burke, Other Desert Cities

Tennessee Dixon, Death & the Maiden

Frank Foster, Cabaret

Ron Keller, Color Purple

Tom Width, The Drowsy Chaperone



Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design: Joey Luck, Cabaret

Andrew Craig, Death & the Maiden

Derek Dumais, The Color Purple

Chase Kniffen, Say Goodnight Gracie

Joey Luck, Chad Deity



Outstanding Achievement in Fight Choreography: James Long, Chad Deity


Liz Marks Memorial Award for Ongoing Contribution to Richmond Area Theater: The Acts of Faith Festival




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Please prove you are human: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.